‘Carmen Miranda Fiesta Day’ Rubbish Day

Carmen Miranda rubbish day fiesta

If you are slightly confused as to why a middle-aged woman is dancing next to her rubbish bin with cauliflower, broccoli and a banana on a chopstick on her head in this post, check out my about page. In short, I dress up for rubbish collection day and have done so every Wednesday for many months. I am a big believer in injecting regular doses of silly into one’s life. As a work-from-home worker, I also fight daily the battle of not giving in to tracksuit pants and slippers and, heaven forbid, no lipstick!

So, to fight the seriousness of life with wrinkles and children and unmanageable dogs and bills and taxes, every Wednesday I get my eccentric on and dance in the street. This week, it was Carmen Miranda Day because the cauliflower was very slimy and needed to be disposed of. It was a fiesta. Dogs barked. Neighbours hid their eyes. My charming husband laughed at me.

I will be adding some of the older photos this week and next but from then on, I will see you every Wednesday.

Carmen Miranda Rubbish Day

About tracyloveshistory

I have an inordinate fondness for a long time ago. I write about history and my family's place in it; clothes, shoes, war, memory, loss and whatever else takes my fancy. I wear red lipstick every second day and I dress up. A lot. Photograph by the extraordinary Ben Skinner at Arwen Garnentry.

11 responses to “‘Carmen Miranda Fiesta Day’ Rubbish Day

  1. Pingback: ‘Carmen Miranda Fiesta Day’ Rubbish Day | tracyloveshistory

  2. You appear to have appropriated that delightful broccoli from your crisper as a last minute justification for that delightfully overdressed bin day dress-up. Not entirely sure it does justice to the overall look, but willing to accept that broccoli is a flower (if not fruit) and as such might have played a part in Carmen Miranda’s life, albeit on a plate accompanied by mashed spud and a chop. I have to say, the saddest part of all of this is that this new venture into bin day images is going to eclipse your stellar and most wonderfully inked other blog. Soon this little space of few words will attract the lion’s share of the fickle blog viewing public. Love the regular injections of silly and that you probably have neighbours who have invested a small fortune into very expensive binoculars but am entirely saddened and dissatisfied with the viewing/reading habits of the world…

    “She has ANOTHER blog…it’s wonderful! Go visit if you don’t believe me!” (Sigh…plebeians…)

    • We’ll lure them into 2000 word history articles with silliness and brevity. Never fear, Mrs Narf, I’ll bring history to the masses through the judicious use of flowers and tomfoolery if it’s the last thing I do.

      • You might have to resort to dressing up like George Washington’s wife Martha or someone equally as alluring (maybe Napoleon’s Josephine?)…maybe the next step is to bring Mr 23Thorns into the action shots… you could use him as a prop, I don’t think he would be much good as the leading man…too skittish by far 😉

      • Oooh, I love Josephine and Napoleon. I wrote about them in a love letters post a while back.

      • I guess I could always just ready your blogs back catalogue (always a first time 😉 ). The theme would fit in nicely with Mr 23Thorns last post…”Not tonight Josephine!” 😉

  3. I really love your idea 🙂
    It would certainly give my little village something to talk about – or give them a heart attack! Lol

  4. Did the fruit and veggies go into the green bin when you were done?

  5. This is a blog worth following. I love random silly. So does my mother, as this was how she amused herself and horrified me when I was a child. Ah, good times.

Leave a Reply

