‘Dude looks like a lady (or the other way around)’ Rubbish Day

My son found a beard the day before yesterday. It was in his old dress-up cupboard and we hadn’t seen it since he was captain Haddock for some school event. Or was it simply a quiet day at home? One forgets in our house. Anyhow, in light of this discovery P.T. Barnum and his Victorian Circus came to town this morning. One should never let a good beard go to waste, I always say.

Just in case you don’t work it out, I’m a bearded lady and just in case you don’t know much about the creepy Victorian circuses, you can have a read of an old blog of mine on the tracyloveshistory site.

20131106-091735.jpg

20131106-091918.jpg
Please do note the gardener in the background. So normal is this strange Wednesday morning behaviour for him now, that all I warrant is a passing glance and then it’s back to work!

20131106-092044.jpg
Is this not an utterly marvelous beard?

20131106-092248.jpg
And, yes, that is the public behind me. The vehicle approached slowly and with caution. No sudden moves. You’d hate to see me startle!

Happy Wednesday all. We’re still going to be at the circus next week – I think it is a wonderful metaphor for my family life, the circus. So, next week…tattooed lady. Not just any tattooed lady, just this one in the crown. Isn’t she wonderful?

20131106-092612.jpg

About tracyloveshistory

I have an inordinate fondness for a long time ago. I write about history and my family's place in it; clothes, shoes, war, memory, loss and whatever else takes my fancy. I wear red lipstick every second day and I dress up. A lot. Photograph by the extraordinary Ben Skinner at Arwen Garnentry.

5 responses to “‘Dude looks like a lady (or the other way around)’ Rubbish Day

  1. For a second I thought the first photo was you a d I was amazed at the cunningness of your disguise. Your actual disguise was pretty good though and I can’t believe the neighbours ignored you 🙂

    • Today was worse!! Today I was the tattooed lady. This time they did not ignore me. I’m actually still trying to decide whether or not i can actually post the tattooed lady or if i should rather go with an Isadora Duncan day from the archives.

Leave a Reply

