‘I might actually get serious as the tattooed lady’ Rubbish Day

So, last week in a particularly rambunctious mood, I dressed up as the bearded lady a la Victorian Circus.

20131113-100658.jpg

It was fabulous. I giggled all day. It has, however, created huge problems for me this morning, one week later. You see, I promised to continue with the circus theme and do ‘Tattooed Lady’ this week. This tattooed lady…

20131113-091329.jpg

Isn’t it a fabulous photograph? I adore Maud! I confess to absolutely loving the awkward posture and the socks and the shoes and the strange unnatural arm position and the crown. How could you fail to love that crown? So, I have a tattoo or two and as a sign from the lords of coincidence that it was now time for me to go full circus freak, my daughter just happened to have made a crown at school last week. It was right! It was the right thing to do, to go and stand next to my dustbin in my knickers! I said I would do it!

But that was last week. This morning I woke up and thought, “Hell no! The internet will not see me in a state of undress!” Because despite being nearly 40, having a delicious husband and 2 beautiful children, and frankly being a bit of a waif, I still have the bikini angst. The memory of the teenage thunder thigh trauma, the slimming pills, the mad sit-up regime, the wear-black-’cause-it’s-slimming-phase still looms fairly large apparently.

And I have pored over the photograph and I have have ummed and aahed over whether or not I can possibly use it. I have a ridiculous Isadora Duncan day from early spring that I never posted. I have back-up. I have decided though to just throw caution to the wind. I have a 4 year-old daughter, you see. She came home from school the other day having been told by a friend that she was a ‘fatty boom boom’. And that is not okay. She is quite perfect and should have no question in her mind that she is anything but.

Now, whether or not my personal exhibitionism will serve as an example for my daughter is debatable, but I’m going to do it anyway.Take that bikini angst! Take that teenage thunder thighs! Take that neighbourhood and paper recycling guy! I have a bikini and I’m not afraid to use it. I’m the tattooed lady. I am awkward and have bad posture and bobby socks.

20131113-093858.jpg

Phew…tough morning. Next week…straightjacket πŸ™‚

About tracyloveshistory

I have an inordinate fondness for a long time ago. I write about history and my family's place in it; clothes, shoes, war, memory, loss and whatever else takes my fancy. I wear red lipstick every second day and I dress up. A lot. Photograph by the extraordinary Ben Skinner at Arwen Garnentry.

6 responses to “‘I might actually get serious as the tattooed lady’ Rubbish Day

  1. I think your rubbish truck drivers, any random men walking their dogs and any other red blooded male in the vicinity just had their day well made! Tell me though, was 23 looking a little belligerant this morning at the thought of his wife in such a state of undress? With nary a beach in sight?
    How sad though that your daughter was called out on body image at such a young age. I think we all come under fire for the imperfect body image (I got “pancakes” for years until I filled out to be “ice-creams”) but how terrible that it now starts age 4. 😦 Good on you for making a stand and I hope it does show her that desite our perceived flaws, it is still ok to be proud of our bodies. πŸ™‚

    • The neighbours and rubbish guys genuinely do just carry on about their business! In the background of this shot is a guy, incidentally an albino, who comes around every Wednesday morning to collect the papers from our bins for recycling in order to make a little money. He didn’t even break from the job for a minute, and poor old 23 just laughs and laughs.

      I was really horrified that at the age of 4, young Thorns has been made aware of the size of her thighs. Too awful! On a lighter note, she seems to be made of tougher stuff than I was πŸ™‚

  2. Good on you. Loving the tattoo by the way. I’d have to turn and present my back to camera if I wanted to show off mine πŸ™‚ not that you’d catch me in a bikini on the street, my body image issues are way more justified.

Leave a Reply

