‘It’s a silly season and I’m exhausted’ Rubbish Day

It was my birthday yesterday. It’s Christmas in a week. The children are on holiday. The bloodhound and/or the boychild keep waking me before 5. I am exhausted. I was too exhausted even to deal with rubbish on my own this morning. I recruited a special helper.

And so, without further ado, our rules for the silly season:

1. If it is shiny and garish, wear it.

20131218-093941.jpg

2. If it stands still, decorate it with something shiny and garish. (Don’t bother counting your grey hairs; you’ll be earning more over the next month.)

20131218-094114.jpg

3. If it’s not still, dance with it.

20131218-094308.jpg

Twice!

20131218-094401.jpg

4. If it’s a Barbie undress it and cover it it in plasters; lose all the tiny shoes and cry about that often.

20131218-094549.jpg

5. Cling to your sense of humour like it is the last good thing on Earth.

20131218-094706.jpg

6. Keep twirling, even when you get dizzy.

20131218-094915.jpg

Happy week to each and everyone.

About tracyloveshistory

I have an inordinate fondness for a long time ago. I write about history and my family's place in it; clothes, shoes, war, memory, loss and whatever else takes my fancy. I wear red lipstick every second day and I dress up. A lot. Photograph by the extraordinary Ben Skinner at Arwen Garnentry.

4 responses to “‘It’s a silly season and I’m exhausted’ Rubbish Day

  1. Congratulations with your birthday yesterday. We all need helpers sometimes. Yours is very cute.

    I hope the collectors appreciate the decorated bins 😉

  2. Happy birthday! I’m sorry you’re feeling exhausted but thanks for upholding your commitment to entertain us today and for dancing. Twice.

  3. Jocelyn

    A twirly, sparkly Christmas collection! Now that’s what I call discipline……

Leave a Reply

