‘The Day an Avocado Drove Us Dotty’ Rubbish Day

The boychild woke up this morning with one thing on his mind. Avocados. He needed, yes needed, an avocado before school. More accurately, he needed its pip for school, for Natural Science. For today! This meant that we needed to be ready faster than normal, on a morning that we had woken later than normal, because we had not slept as well as normal, because the midnight storm had made our Chinese-crested Powder Puff jump in and out of our bedroom window with much clattering of silverware and crystal ball displays, which is entirely normal. As you can imagine, by the time I was ready to take out the rubbish, I felt a little…well…dotty. Then Dotty led to Dorothy and Dorothy went to Oz and the next thing you know, I was skipping in the street, disturbing the peace with my very own Chinese-crested Powder Puff Toto.

20140122-102646.jpg
There is definitely no place like our home!

20140122-102756.jpg
Toto, of the cupboard-ransacking, cereal-eating, housebreaking-in ways.

20140122-102936.jpg
We are a menace to society, I tell you. Well, we are at least a menace to our neighbourhood.

20140122-103111.jpg
Follow the middle-class brick road…follow, follow, follow, follow….

About tracyloveshistory

I have an inordinate fondness for a long time ago. I write about history and my family's place in it; clothes, shoes, war, memory, loss and whatever else takes my fancy. I wear red lipstick every second day and I dress up. A lot. Photograph by the extraordinary Ben Skinner at Arwen Garnentry.

4 responses to “‘The Day an Avocado Drove Us Dotty’ Rubbish Day

  1. But did you get the avocado pip?

  2. Thank the rubbish day deities for you, Tracy. Just when I was about to pack it all in (think accountant + year end), you come along and cheer me up.

    I’m surprised you found an avo in summer! Nice one.

  3. Oh I don’t know. The madness in your house closely resembles ours some days. No dogs jumping in and out of windows but a child who likes to hop in and out of our bed all night long and 2 cats. Mind you, no rubbish day dress up here. Our rubbishman is the brother of our neighbour across the street and they think I’m a fruit loop already!

    LOVE the shoes!

Leave a Reply

