Toulouse the integrity of one’s hamstring Rubbish Day

I woke up feeling a bit dancey this morning despite the fact that the rubbish collectors didn’t arrive on Wednesday and the fact that I can now actually smell the bins from a good 20 metres away. A week’s worth of cat litter in a bin is a terrifying thing! (Yes, we still have both the cat and allergies)

In honour of my grandma who nearly danced for the Folie Bergeres, I went a little (lot) Moulin Rouge. A car actually pulled over AND turned off the Oscar Pistorius news to investigate the going on!

Of course I have neither the grace of a gazelle nor its hamstrings. I am in fits of giggles and am quite beyond being able to edit the many photos my long-suffering husband took (I’m sure to prolong the agony of my public can-can performance) so there are rather a lot of shots this morning.

20140410-091026.jpg
My “audience” and, yes, there was some performance anxiety. Thank heavens for the absinthe (green food colouring in water)

20140410-091228.jpg

20140410-091319.jpg
I am rather fond of my hastily cobbled together fascinator.

20140410-091450.jpg
Let the dancing begin

20140410-091601.jpg

20140410-091648.jpg
More Impi, more toyi toyi than can can 🙂 And then the Karate Kid move. Keeeeya!

20140410-091851.jpg

20140410-092017.jpg

20140410-092056.jpg

20140410-092137.jpg

20140410-092217.jpg

About tracyloveshistory

I have an inordinate fondness for a long time ago. I write about history and my family's place in it; clothes, shoes, war, memory, loss and whatever else takes my fancy. I wear red lipstick every second day and I dress up. A lot. Photograph by the extraordinary Ben Skinner at Arwen Garnentry.

8 responses to “Toulouse the integrity of one’s hamstring Rubbish Day

  1. Love the moves and I’m sure the neighbours appreciated the flash of garter 🙂

  2. Was going to ask if you had stopped updating and saw i had just missed them! My favourite dancing queen…i mean empress. Though you can keep the smell!

  3. Your poor neighbours will have a boring rubbish day next week!

  4. This one was fabulous! I hope we get to see some more!! Damn critters, moving rubbish collection day! I Just got around to bookmarking so I make sure I get back every single week!.. lol

Leave a Reply

